top of page

gun & powder wins the

2018 richard rodgers award


Gun & Powder was one of two musicals awarded the 2018 Richard Rodgers Award for Musical Theater, presented by the Academy of Arts and Letters. Former award recipients include Anaïs Mitchell for Hadestown; Maury Yeston for Nine; Jonathan Larson for Rent; Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty for Lucky Stiff; Jeanine Tesori and Brian Crawley for Violet; and Dave Malloy for Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812.  The members of this year’s jury were David Lang, Mindi Dickstein, Sheldon Harnick, Richard Maltby, Jr., and John Weidman.

It was an afternoon to remember. Angelica and I were floored by the overwhelming honor of being recognized at the Ceremonial at the Academy of Arts and Letters. In the company of legendary writers, composers and artists, we were thrilled to be in that number.  In light of the inevitable photo ops, I enlisted the help of my uber-trendy friend Greg Dassonville of DassonVogue to style me for the occasion.

bottom of page